The End is the Beginning

March 31st…the end of the challenge. This is the second year I’ve participated and I enjoyed it just as much the second timeResisting around. Recently, I bought a book entitled, Resisting  Happiness. Matthew Kelly, the author, contends that we resist the very things that make us feel happy and fulfilled. The SOL Challenge proves his point. Writing everyday, no exception, for thirty-one days boosts my creativity, confidence and sense of accomplishment. Writing everyday and sharing it with others, opens me to the world in a unique way. So, although this is the end of the challenge, for me it is the beginning of a commitment to write everyday, without exception.

What will I write? Well, somedays I’ll post a slice, right here on my Daily Scribbles blog. When my writing is a bit more personal, I’ll use my writer’s notebook. Of course, I must keep working on the series of picture books that I’ve begun, on my advice book for Middle School kids, on the book I started to help single dads set up and run a home, and on the blog I write to help parents foster literacy in the home. Whew…I really do have a lot of “works in progress”. I didn’t even mention the gift poems that I write for family, friends and the occasional “customer”. This year’s challenge only reinforced my love of writing and commitment to stick with it.

Now it’s time to say thank you. Thank you to all the amazing people at Two Writing Teachers who have made this community of writers a reality. I can only imagine what goes on behind the scenes and the effort it takes to put it all together. Thanks, also, to the many talented slicers. Your words touched my heart, inspired my writing, and enabled me to peek into other lives and meet other families. A special thanks to those of you who took the time to comment on my slices. Affirmation is fuel for the writerly life. You provided a generous dose of it!  I hope to keep in touch not only on Tuesday, but on other days as well with those bloggers who I now follow. Happy Spring!  Happy Writing!

Leave a Reply

