Book Club Buddies

Fifteen years ago I had an idea…Let’s have a book club. Five other wonderful friends from our neighborhood decided to read a book each month and gather together to discuss it. In the interim, my husband and I downsized and moved from that neighborhood, one of the women lost a husband, all but one of the women are retired and still, each month, we get together. It’s a beautiful thing. Long ago, our kids dubbed it the “Wine Club” (Smart alecks) but, in truth, it’s more about socializing, sharing our lives and a glass of wine and supporting each other than discussing a book.

My wonderful book club buddies just left. It is always such a pleasure, such a joy, to see them. Each month I look forward to hearing about their exploits, their travels, their children that I used to know so well. I am grateful tonight for the gift of these five women and their presence in my life.

Leave a Reply

