In Like a Lion…

Over the past few days, I’ve thought often of the old saying, “In like a lion, out like a lamb.” March never disappoints. It always lives up to this little ditty and makes it a truism. March is not one of my favorite months because I’m an optimist. As old as I am, when I see the sun shining brightly on a March day, I just expect that the temperature will match the scene and soar into the seventies.

Our trip to Florida only whetted my appetite for steady sunshine, bright flowers, and high temperatures. Intellectually, I realize that’s still a fantasy, I want to hurry along Mother Nature, much like you hurry along a straggling child. Over the years, I developed some tricks to get me through March (and even April). They involve two things, planning and patience.

I make a list of all the things I need to do to prepare for warmer weather, like clean the deck furniture, plan my flowers, tackle those pesky jobs that are too annoying to do on a nice day, like cleaning out closets and cabinets. Then, I throw in some Lenten rituals to help me practice patience, adding more prayer and meditation to my days and going out of my way for others. Planning and patience put sunshine into my days even when it’s not in the sky. Pretty soon that little lamb will come trotting along and I’ll be ready to celebrate the warmth and beauty of spring and summer.

Leave a Reply

