An Unwelcome Guest

It’s Tuesday and I intend to stay true to my SOL commitment, even though I am sitting here wondering what to write. Truth be told, I’ve been a bit down these past few days. Sometimes, melancholy sneaks in the door, pulls up a chair and like an unwelcome guest, intrudes on us. Possibly, the combination of a good friend’s death, a return to winter-like weather, and the reality that my teaching career will last only a few more weeks, can be blamed for this malaise. Who knows? Certainly, if you are reading this you know the feeling. For no one escapes periodic visits from this guest. The trick, of course, is gratitude, activity, and reaching out to help another. So, perhaps, I’ll simply show her  the door, explain that I have better things to do than spend time with her, and get on with my life.

10 thoughts on “An Unwelcome Guest

  1. I think that is a great idea – just show her the door! Kick her out and then go for a nice walk – even though it might be colder than you or I would like. A bit of a walk and fresh air helps keep that melancholy from returning. Take Care and smile even if you don’t feel like it. It helps some times.

    Like

  2. You are not alone. This happens to me too, usually in the summer. Sometimes, life can get overwhelming, but it sounds like you have a good plan to help you get through it. Writing helps too.

    Peace,
    Jennifer

    Like

  3. Thank you for an honest thought. I love the way you are just going to show her the door! That’s a great visual! And you are so smart – you know how to get her out! Great slice!

    Like

  4. If I look only at the writing of your paragraph, it is not a downer. In fact there are quite a number of things to like about it:
    the personification of grief-unwelcome guest, show her the door, pulls up a chair, intrudes on us
    words choice for grief: melancholy, malaise, a bit down
    presenting a solution to the melancholy
    But, everything that you state in your piece is a loss, and two of them are major losses (even though retiring is joyous!).
    Live the grief in the moment; it probably wont be there in the next.

    Like

    1. Maribeth, Thanks you for your encouragement…about both my writing and my mood. Somedays we need more affirmation than others. Today was one of those days.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

