A Letter From My Best Friend

Dear Rita,

It’s hard to believe that it has been so long since we’ve connected. I miss you and I must admit I’m a bit miffed. You make countless promises to meet up with me and allow me to be part of you life and then you renege. My feelings are hurt and my trust in you is waning. It’s clear that you don’t like me very much…at least not enough to include me in your life on a regular basis. And yet, I know that when we are together, we have a great time. The blood rushes to your face and you actually glow. Your heart pounds with excitement. And the best part…the best part is that you feel more energetic, less stressed and more alive.

Why are you sabotaging yourself? You know I’m the one with the power to build your brittle bones. You know I’m the one with the power to maintain your health. You know I’m the one that will give you the flexibility to get down on the rug and play with those grandkids. Won’t you give me another chance? Spring is here. We could travel outside together and walk in the sunshine. We could hold hands and execute those wonderful stretches you read about in Aging Backwards. We could even pop into the clubhouse for a spin on the eliptic machine (you know when you get going on that it feels like dancing). Speaking of which, we could even go dancing. Rita, I’m here for you. Let’s put the past behind us and get a new start. Please touch base and we’ll set up some dates.

Sincerely,

Your best friend, Exercise

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “A Letter From My Best Friend

  1. This is a great slice! You should most definitely give your “friend” another chance. The hardest part is the first day back together . . .go on make a date with her!

    Like

Leave a Reply

