My Favorite Things

Anyone remember when Oprah used to do shows on her favorite things? Oprah’s not the only one with a few special items to share. Check out some of my favs…

Recently, at a trip to Trader Joes, I discovered a cereal called Ancient Grain and Super Seed Oatmeal. I’ve had celiac sprue for over twenty-five years so I’m always on the lookout for new gluten-free products. This one is a find! According to the package, “it’s a mix of whole grain rolled oats, quinoa and amaranth flakes with sunflower, pumpkin, hemp, flax, and chia seeds. Talk about healthy ingredients! Even better, it cooks up in two minutes and enables me to enjoy a good-size bowl of hot oatmeal for only 160 calories (plus the almond milk, butter and sugar I add). This is worth a try, especially if you are gluten-free and don’t eat oats. It’s yummy!

Another favorite item is probably one most of you already use —Mr. Clean’s Magic Eraser. About a month after we moved into our brand new townhouse, I spilled (and I mean spilled) red nail polish all over the pristine white bathroom sink. Yikes! I didn’t know what to do. Luckily Mr. Clean’s eraser was nearby. First I took a cloth and removed the puddles of polish then this magic eraser did its job. Seriously, there wasn’t a trace of red left. Whew! That convinced me. I’m never without this product in the house.

Finally, here’s my top pick. A few Easter’s ago, a friend gave me one of those Vera Bradley small change purses, with a transparent compartment on the front to hold your license and a nice key ring attached to the top. My former wallet added more weight to my pocketbook than anything else I carried. I decided to dump all my plastic cards into the change purse, add my license and ditch the rest of the junk in my wallet. How freeing! Now when I have to show identification or make a purchase, I just leaf through the cards and pull out what I need. My bag is much lighter and my shoulder no longer tips to one side. Check this out!

Everybody needs some new ideas. What are your favorite products?

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “My Favorite Things

  1. This is a great idea for a slice. I think my jaw dropped when you said that the Magic Eraser removed all the nail polish from your sink. Huge sigh of relief! (That moment would make a great slice!) I’m a huge fan of hot cereal and will have to check out that Trader Joe’s oatmeal. It sounds fabulous. Thanks for sharing your favorite things!

    Like

  2. My daughter is gluten free so I’ll have to check out that hot cereal and I’m totally with you on those eraser sponges, they are amazing. I donate them to our school for the staff room microwave.
    But you’ve got me thinking about my own list.

    Like

  3. ok- terrific idea for a slice. You had me at Oprah…I am thankful for your post. I’m doing report cards and it gave my mind a smile and a break!
    My favorite things lately are
    1. colored Flair pens
    2. Jen Serravallo’s Reading Strategies Book and
    3. Trader Joe’s Raw Almond Butter on crackers… or straight off the spoon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

